TTG Travel Awards honours 62 champions of travel

Philippine ambassador Millicent Cruz Paredes (left); and TTG Asia Media’s Darren Tan (right), presented Singapore Airlines’ WK Lim (centre) with the first TTG Travel Hall of Fame accolade

The annual TTG Travel Awards returned yesterday evening with its 32nd edition which commemorated 66 exceptional travel and tourism players across Asia-Pacific.

This year, there were three new inductees into the TTG Travel Hall of Fame, an accolade reserved for those who have taken home a TTG travel award 10 consecutive times. They are Harbour Plaza, Phoenix Tours, and Resorts World Sentosa.

Several recipients that successfully defended their titles include Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre at CentralWorld (Best Meetings & Conventions Hotel), Scoot (Best Low Cost Carrier), Frasers Hospitality (Best Serviced Residence Operator), and Corporate Travel Management Asia (Best Corporate Travel Agency).

For 46 others, it was the first time they ever won a TTG Travel Award. These new winners include Marina Bay Sands (Best Integrated Resort), Kempinski (Best Luxury Hotel Brand), Temple Tree Resort Langkawi (Best Boutique Hotel), Hamad International Airport (Best Airport), and The Standard Mahanakhon (Best New City Hotel).

The Outstanding Achievement Awards category – the only non-voting segment of the awards, with winners determined by TTG’s editorial team for their remarkable contributions to the industry – recognised Singapore as Destination of the Year; Tourism Authority of Thailand for the Best Travel Marketing Effort awards; and Marriott for the Most Sustainable Travel Company award.

The gala event was held at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, and coincided with IT&CM Asia and CTW Asia-Pacific double-bill event in Bangkok from September 26 to 28.

source: TTG Asia